Understand Michigan's DUI Laws
Michigan has a "per se" DUI law, which means that anyone can be charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol level is at .08% or higher. Drivers do not have to look or behave drunk in order to be charged with a DUI.
The first DUI a person is charged with is a misdemeanor and cannot be sentenced to more than one year in jail. If a driver has been convicted of a DUI twice in the past 10 years and is charged for DUI, it is considered a felony.
A third or any subsequent DUI convictions are also seen as felonies, which lead to much harsher punishments. Those who cause death or serious injury when operating a vehicle while intoxicated can also be charged with a felony, regardless if it is their first, second, third or subsequent offense.
If you have been charged with a felony DUI, contact Boulahanis & Associates.
Penalties for a Conviction
If you are charged with a third offense DUI within your lifetime, you are facing: a myriad of charges and penalties.
- Fines range from $500 to $5,000
- 1-5 years of imprisonment in a state facility.
- Minimum of 30 days to one year in prison, then probation
- 60 days of community service
- Six points added to your driving record.
- Your driver's license may be revoked, and/or denied if you have two prior convictions within the last seven years or three convictions within the last 10 years.
The shortest period of time that your license can be revoked is one year if you have no prior revocation within seven years. If you have had prior revocations within seven years, your license may be revoked for a minimum of five years. Your license plates may be confiscated if your car is not forfeited.
Causing injury or death while driving under the influence is also considered a felony. If someone is killed in an accident that you caused, you may be facing up to 15 years in state prison and/or a fine that ranges from $2,500 to $10,000. If someone is injured, you may be sentenced to five years in state prison and/or fines that range from $1,000 to $5,000.
Your driver's license may be revoked and denied for a minimum of one year or five years if there was a previous revocation within the last seven years. Unless your vehicle is forfeited, your car will be immobilized for a maximum of 180 days. Six points will be added to your driving record.
Speak to a Knowledgeable Attorney
DUIs are a serious crime. If you are charged with a third DUI or have injured someone in an accident while you were driving under the influence of alcohol, you are facing extremely harsh punishments. Without legal aid, you will most likely be facing years in state prison and paying monumental fines.
Those accused of a felony DUI may not be able to get a job with the government or work with children. You might be prohibited from owning a firearm and may not receive certain types of loans. Removing felony charges from your record is extremely difficult.
When asked if you have committed a felony for a job or loan, you must check "yes." You may not be able to apply for health insurance and rates for auto and life insurance will increase.
Our legal team at Boulahanis & Associates has over 30 years of experience and may be able to minimize or dismiss your DUI charges. Do not risk suffering from the previously mentioned consequences. Call our firm today at 313-277-2550 to see how we can help you. Request a free initial consultation for your case.