Refusing Your Breath Test in Detroit, Michigan
Sound Legal Counsel from Our Detroit DUI Lawyer
The Implied Consent Law in Michigan states that if an individual is arrested
for probable cause of
driving under the influence, they give full consent to take a breath test. If you have recently been
pulled over and refused to take the test, it is important to understand
your options and rights in the matter. A Detroit DUI lawyer can provide
you with the intimate knowledge and resources needed to do so. At Boulahanis
& Associates, we are not only dedicated to initially getting you started
with your breath test refusal case, but we can help you fight for an end-result
that is in your best interests.
What to Expect After Refusing a Breath Test
If you refuse to take a breath test, the arresting officer has reason to
suspend your driver's license. You will then have 14 days to challenge
your license suspension and request a court hearing in order to appeal
it. If the suspension is accepted by the court, it means that your license
will be taken away for one year: two years if this is your second refusal
within a span a seven years. By refusing to take the breath test, you
may also be responsible for paying a fine to the state of Michigan. If
you are currently facing this legal process, our Detroit DUI lawyer can help.
Get your case started with an exceptional DUI attorney in Detroit!
With more than 25 years of legal experience defending the cases of our
clients, we are dedicated to getting you started in the right direction.
Our law firm stresses the importance of speaking with a qualified DUI
attorney as quickly as possible. This way, you have enough time to properly
challenge your license suspension and make sure that your rights stay
protected during the process.
Call Boulahanis & Associates to learn about your options and start your case immediately!